top of page

Being Merciful

Luke 6: 27-36



Jesus wants me to love, not just my neighours but also my enemies. That sounds almost impossible especially when I think of the painful experiences I've suffered by the actions of others in the past. Still, God wants me to love regardless of my pain, because as a believer I ought to mirror His unconditional love for me.


In Luke 6:27-36, while Jesus was preaching to a great multitude of listeners, he taught the message of showing love to your enemies.

"But I say unto you which hear, Love your enemies, do good to them which hate you. Bless them that curse you, pray for them which despitefully use you." Luke 6: 27-28 (KJV)


Why Should I Love My Enemies?

Loving someone who wants to harm me or who has hurt me either physically or emotionally can be possible through the love of God, the help of the Holy Spirit, and a deep trust in God. Why would Jesus want me to love those who hate me ?


"Love your enemies! Do good to them! Lend to them! And don't be concerned that they might not repay. Then your reward from heaven will be very great, and you will truly be acting like children of the Most High, for he is kind to the unthankful and to those who are wicked." Luke 6: 35 (NLT)

The answer is right there in Luke 6:35. God wants me to be like Him and to love just as He does. He shows kindness to those who are wicked, and to those who are ungrateful, He expects nothing in return for his mercy. So also, as His child I ought to show kindness to those who do not seem deserving. I must be compassionate just as my Father is compassionate.


How Can I Love My Enemies?

Jesus gave examples of ways I can love my enemies in Luke 6: 27-35.

  1. Praying for my enemies. Jesus encourages praying for the happiness of those who curse you. The first step to doing this is to change my thoughts towards my enemies. When thoughts of them cross my mind, instead of reminiscing of the pain they caused me , I should say a short prayer instead. I pray for Jesus to touch that person, I pray for myself for strength to let go of the pain. I pray for healing, patience and ask for help from the Holy Spirit, I just pray.

  2. Avoiding Retaliation. Our human nature is to instinctively fight back once we feel attacked, either verbally, emotionally or physically. Jesus explained in Luke 6:29 that if someone were to strike you on one cheek, you should turn the other cheek. Incredible! Jesus demonstrated this because he faced a lot of opposition while he was on earth and never did he retaliate or resort to violence. By looking the other way when someone wrongs me, and resisting the natural urge to retaliate, I let go of the innate desire to please flesh, and focus on pleasing God.

  3. Expecting Nothing in Return. Jesus described another way I could love my enemies was by giving and not expecting anything in return. We live in a society today where we constantly seek validation and instant gratification for our good deeds. Jesus wants me to be kind without expecting a reward because my reward from heaven will be very great.

"Do you think you deserve credit merely for loving those who love you? Even the sinners do that! And if you do good to those who can repay you, what good is that? Even sinners will lend to their own kind for a full return." Luke 6: 32-33 (NLT)

4. Being merciful. Just as God is merciful to those who commit evil, He expects me as His child to show mercy to my enemies.

"Be ye therefore merciful, as your Father also is merciful." Luke 6: 36 (KJV)

Jesus demonstrated this quality even unto death, he was falsely accused, beaten, humiliated, spat on, and killed by his enemies. Yet he responded with truth, healing, kindness and love. He wants me to love just as he loved me while I was a sinner.


What Happens When I Love Those Who Hurt Me?

Holding on to past hurts can become bitterness and it festers till we hurt those around us unintentionally. Jesus knew this and that's why he wants us to forgive, to let go and surrender all our pains and fears to him. His overwhelming love can soothe and heal you from any pain you've endured or you're still enduring. But first you have to surrender your life to him.


Years ago I was in a relationship that ended badly and violently. My ex did something bad to me and he hurt me. I carried that pain with me for a long time till I surrendered to God and asked him to take away the pain. I forgave my ex without him even asking and God healed me. Later when he reached out and apologized for what he had done, I told him I had forgiven him and that was true. I was no longer a slave to my pain because Jesus bore it all for me. You can have this too if you believe.


Prayer

Heavenly Father, please help me to forgive those who've hurt me in the past, I ask for strength to love those who've hurt me. I pray that you touch the hearts of my enemies in Jesus Name I pray. Amen.


Reference

The Holy Bible, King James Version, Luke 6: 27-35

The Holy Bible, New Living Translation, Luke 6: 27-35

BusyBlessedWomen, How to love your enemies, https://busyblessedwomen.com/how-to-love-your-enemies/




3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Tag Cloud
bottom of page